Creating Community In The Classroom

   I was really inspired by last week’s readings. I often find myself getting so excited to teach because I can’t wait to try the new ideas I have seen. One thing that really interests my about teaching is that I will be able to use my creativity. I will be able to come up with all types of different ways to do things in my classroom. When I was volunteering in the classroom this year I felt like a sponge. I was absorbing everything I was seeing around me. I loved to watch how the teachers did things. I would see something and think, “What a great idea! I want to do that in my classroom!”

   I felt that same excitement as I read Sapon-Shevin. I loved that she used so many examples for how teachers can create community. I envisioned creating community in my own classroom.  I want to be the type of teacher who makes students feel that their voices are heard and their input is valued. It is amazing to think how much better students can learn when they are in a safe space to do so. If they feel that their voice will be heard they will speak. If they feel that they are not valued they will disconnect. As a teacher I will have the ability to create a classroom that feels safe and supportive. I can’t wait!

    As I was reading Sapon-Shevin I also found myself thinking about our cohort. It seems as though our class was modeled after these ideas. In the brief time we have been together there is already a strong sense of community. This started because the professors set the tone and we followed their lead.  I thought of our cohort when I read, “A community is a safe space to grow, a space that welcomes you fully, that sees you for who you are, that invites your participation, and that holds you gently while you explore.” Doesn’t this describe exactly what this program is meant to be? I smiled as I read this and felt so lucky to be a part of this program. I also thought about how I am currently feeling as a student who is a part of this community and how I would like my students to feel the same way.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment